"O brave new world, that has such people in it."

Exactly one month ago, I was thousands of miles across one of the greatest body of water in the world, being a foreigner. In fact, it was the past four months that I played the part of foreigner, and gladly. I was in London, studying Shakespeare at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art. And while I was over there, I bus/planed/trained it anywhere I could in whatever time I could make. If I could describe my whole experience in one sentence it would be that never have I felt so little and so big at the same time. I became a sponge, soaking up all these new things, expanding with every person I met, sight I saw, building I touched, food I smelled and tasted. At the same time, I felt incredibly humbled. I found myself in amazing places, standing in great, green fields with nothing but sky and giant clouds rolling past me, lying against the sun on a slow moving punty boat, bike riding through the countryside in the rain, standing on a volcano, standing next to gargoyles high up in the air, standing, walking, taking my body and mind to places so much bigger than myself. I felt blessed, undeserving, excited about life, connected, sometimes unconnected, exhilarated, and always in awe.

I got back home just a couple weeks ago, spent a week with my family in Baltimore, MD, and now I’m back in New York City, starting life as a new graduate from NYU and working through CAP21’s summer Industry practicum. It feels wonderful to be home, but I do miss the giant clouds. At least its the same sky.

A teacher I met in London told me “experience is food for your work.” It relates to something I’ve been thinking on lately: sometimes you go into something knowing what you want to learn, but come out realizing all that you still need to learn. In other words, I’m still grocery shopping.

My name is Christina, I live in New York City, and I’m an actor, singer, and dancer. Welcome to my blog!
var gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded;(function(){var lib = null;var checkReadyCount = 0;function sendMessage(message, attrs) { var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode”); for (var p in attrs) { data.removeAttribute(p); } for (var p in attrs) { if (“undefined” != typeof attrs[p]) { data.setAttribute(p, attrs[p]); } } var evt = document.createEvent(“Events”); evt.initEvent(message, true, false); document.dispatchEvent(evt);}function checkLibReady (){ var ready = lib.isAvailable(); if (ready) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady”, {“gtbTranslateError” : false}); return; } if (checkReadyCount++ > 5) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady”, {“gtbTranslateError” : true}); return; } setTimeout(checkLibReady, 100);}gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded = function () { lib = google.translate.TranslateService({}); sendMessage(“{EVT_LOADED}”, {}, []); var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode”); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslate”, onTranslateRequest, true); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslateCheckReady”, onCheckReady, true); data.addEventListener(“gtbTranslateRevert”, onRevert, true); checkLibReady();};function onCheckReady() { var ready = lib.isAvailable(); sendMessage(“gtbTranslateLibReady”, {“gtbTranslateError” : !ready});}function onTranslateRequest() { var data = document.getElementById(“gtbTranslateElementCode”); var orig = data.getAttribute(“gtbOriginalLang”); var target = data.getAttribute(“gtbTargetLang”); lib.translatePage(orig, target, onProgress);}function onProgress(progress, opt_finished, opt_error) { sendMessage(“gtbTranslateOnProgress”, {“gtbTranslateProgress” : progress, “gtbTranslateFinished” : opt_finished, “gtbTranslateError” : opt_error});}function onRevert() { lib.restore();}})(); (function(){var d=window,e=document;function f(b){var a=e.getElementsByTagName(“head”)[0];a||(a=e.body.parentNode.appendChild(e.createElement(“head”)));a.appendChild(b)}function _loadJs(b){var a=e.createElement(“script”);a.type=”text/javascript”;a.charset=”UTF-8″;a.src=b;f(a)}function _loadCss(b){var a=e.createElement(“link”);a.type=”text/css”;a.rel=”stylesheet”;a.charset=”UTF-8″;a.href=b;f(a)}function _isNS(b){for(var b=b.split(“.”),a=d,c=0;c<b.length;++c)if(!(a=a[b[c]]))return!1;return!0}function _setupNS(b){for(var b=b.split("."),a=d,c=0;c<b.length;++c)a=a[b[c]]||(a[b[c]]={});return a}d.addEventListener&&typeof e.readyState=="undefined"&&d.addEventListener("DOMContentLoaded",function(){e.readyState="complete"},!1);if (_isNS('google.translate.Element')){return}var c=_setupNS('google.translate._const');c._cl='en';c._cuc='gtbTranslateOnElementLoaded';c._cac='';c._cam='lib';var h='translate.googleapis.com';var b=(window.location.protocol=='https:'?'https://&#039;:'http://&#039;)+h;c._pah=h;c._pbi=b+'/translate_static/img/te_bk.gif';c._pci=b+'/translate_static/img/te_ctrl3.gif';c._phf=h+'/translate_static/js/element/hrs.swf';c._pli=b+'/translate_static/img/loading.gif';c._plla=h+'/translate_a/l';c._pmi=b+'/translate_static/img/mini_google.png';c._ps=b+'/translate_static/css/translateelement.css';c._puh='translate.google.com';_loadCss(c._ps);_loadJs(b+'/translate_static/js/element/main.js');})();

Leave a Reply

